한국어: 유럽향 드럼세탁기 (모델명_F1047TD)

English: Advertising postcard, picture side, f...

My washing machine is on at the moment.  Isn’t it amazing how the sound a washing machine makes hasn’t changed in forty odd years?  I’m sat here listening to it as it goes round and it if I close my eyes, I’m ten years old, sitting in the kitchen eating my tomatoes on toast, as my mum does the housework!  I find it a comforting sound.  A reminder that I once had a care free life and a wonderfully gentle upbringing.  It’s like I lived a different life on another earth, a bit like this one, only not all twisted and messed up.

Other happy sounds I like are lawn mowers.  The best ones are the manual type, but they are very rare now.  What about the sound of a cricket ball on the bat?  The evening chorus of birds (much more tuneful than the dawn chorus), a trickling stream, the distant rumble of an aeroplane on a cloudless sunny day, the buzzing of bees, and the gentle breeze whispering through trees?

Are there any sounds that send you on a journey into your past or to another world?

Leave happy thoughts